The Contest of Phoebus and Pan - Dunedin Consort & Players

See a concert of works by Bach J.S. with soloists Susan Hamilton (Soprano), Clare Wilkinson (Mezzo-soprano), Thomas Hobbs (Tenor), Nicholas Mulroy (Tenor), Robert Davies (Bass) and Matthew Brook (Bass-baritone)

This listing is in the past.

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750), Brandenburg Concerto no. 3 in G major, BWV1048

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750), Vereinigte Zwietracht der wechselnden Saiten - Cantata, BWV207

Bach, Johann Sebastian (1685-1750), Geschwinde, ihr wirbelnden Winde - Cantata, BWV201


Dunedin Consort and Players

John Butt, Director

Susan Hamilton, Soprano

Clare Wilkinson, Mezzo-soprano

Thomas Hobbs, Tenor

Nicholas Mulroy, Tenor

Robert Davies, Bass

Matthew Brook, Bass-baritone

John Butt's award-winning vocal-and-instrumental ensemble from Scotland - specialists in fresh performances of Bach's music on an intimate scale - bring two of Bach's vivacious but rarely heard secular dramatic cantatas to the Lufthansa Festival. BWV201 explores the clash of new and old aesthetics represented by the Ovidian figures of Phoebus and Pan, while in BWV207, which features familiar music from the Brandenburg Concertos, the figures of Industry, Honour and Happiness, no less, celebrate the installation of a Leipzig professor.

'No performance could better justify small-scale Bach than this convincing marriage of scholarship and inspiration.'
BBC Music Magazine

Tickets £35, £25, £18, £15

Part of the Lufthansa Festival

St Johns Smith Square

Smith Square Westminster
London Greater London United Kingdom SW1P 3HA