Philharmonia Orchestra

Edward Gardner conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert of works by Janáček, Mozart and Dvořák with soloist David Fray (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Janáček, Leoš (1854-1928), Sinfonietta, Op.60
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Piano Concerto no. 22 in E flat, K482
Dvořák, Antonín (1841-1904), Symphony no. 7 in D minor, Op.70
Philharmonia Orchestra
Edward Gardner, Conductor
David Fray, Piano
Janáček was inspired to write his festive Sinfonietta, scored for an extraordinary fourteen trumpets, after listening to brass bands performing in his native Czechoslovakia. Dedicated to the Czech Armed Forces, Janáček said that it was intended to express ‘contemporary free man, his spiritual beauty and joy, his strength, courage and determination to fight for victory.’ Dvořák’s motivation in composing his Seventh Symphony was equally patriotic. ”What is in my mind is Love, God, and my Fatherland”, he said of it, and it is suffused with musical references to the Czech nation, in particular in the final movement, which he said was symbolic of the determination of the Czech people to resist political oppression.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX