Philharmonia Orchestra

András Schiff conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert of works by Mozart with soloist András Schiff (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Symphony no. 29 in A major, K201 (K186a)
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Piano concerto no. 20 in D minor, K466
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Symphony no. 41 in C major "Jupiter", K551
Philharmonia Orchestra
András Schiff, Conductor
András Schiff, Piano
András Schiff has described Mozart as “a gift to mankind”, his music of “such sublime quality, its message so universal”. This evening he conducts and directs from the keyboard, three of Mozart’s most extraordinary works, including the darkly brooding D minor piano concerto, No. 20, which is thought by many to anticipate the brooding and shadowy world of Don Giovanni, written two years later. The concert ends with his final – and to most, greatest – symphony, the Jupiter, in many ways the summation of his compositional life, notable for its dazzling Finale, combining six themes simultaneously.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX