Mozart Requiem

Jonathan Willcocks conducts The English Festival Orchestra and more than 2,000 singers from The Really Big Chorus in a concert of works including The Requiem by Mozart and the Hebrides Overture by Mendelssohn with soloists Savitri Grier (Violin), Robyn Allegra Parton (Soprano), Catherine Hopper (Mezzo-soprano), Ben Thapa (Tenor) and Ashley Riches (Bass).

This listing is in the past.

Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Requiem in D minor, K626

Mendelssohn, Felix (1809-1847), Hebrides Overture "Fingal's Cave", Op.26

Mendelssohn, Felix (1809-1847), Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64


Savitri Grier, Violin

Robyn Allegra Parton, Soprano

Catherine Hopper, Mezzo-soprano

Ben Thapa, Tenor

Ashley Riches, Bass

The English Festival Orchestra

Jonathan Willcocks, Conductor

The Really Big Chorus

As he worked at this, one of his very last compositions, Mozart became convinced that he was writing the Requiem for himself. It is a powerful work, full of passion and fervour, and is guaranteed to be given a whole-hearted performance by more than 2,000 singers from The Really Big Chorus. A more tranquil first half to the concert is provided by Mendelssohn: his atmospheric Hebrides Overture, inspired by a visit to Scotland when the composer was just only 20 years old, and the wonderfully lyrical Violin Concerto in E minor. Violin soloist Savitri Grier, although still only in her first year at university, has already won numerous prizes and awards including, most recently, the Oxford Philomusica's 2012 Concerto Competition.

Royal Albert Hall

Kensington Gore
London Greater London United Kingdom SW7 2AP