RCM Symphony Orchestra

Edward Gardner conducts the RCM Symphony Orchestra in a concert of works by Wagner, Berg and Elgar with soloist Agata Darashkaite (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Wagner, Richard (1813-1883), Tristan and Isolde: Prelude and Liebestod
Berg, Alban (1885-1935), Violin Concerto "To the Memory of an Angel"
Elgar, Sir Edward (1857-1934), Symphony no. 1 in A flat major, Op.55
Agata Darashkaite, Violin
Edward Gardner, Conductor
RCM Symphony Orchestra
The centrepiece of this concert is Elgar’s Symphony no 1. Premiered in 1908, it was described in the Musical Times as an “immediate and phenomenal success”, and its popularity hasn’t diminished in the
intervening century.

To conduct, we are absolutely thrilled to welcome Edward Gardner: Music Director of ENO, Principal Guest Conductor at the CBSO, and one of the world’s most exciting and highly acclaimed young conductors.

Joining him for Berg’s Violin Concerto will be sensational young Lithuanian violinist Agata Darashkaite, winner of the RCM Concerto Competition.

Tickets: £10, £15

Royal College of Music, Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall

Prince Consort Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SW7 2BS