Prom 31

Donald Runnicles conducts the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in a concert of works by MacMillan, Wagner, Bruch, Strauss R., Musgrave and Respighi with soloist Nicola Benedetti (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
MacMillan, James (b. 1959), Fanfare Upon One Note (London première)
Wagner, Richard (1813-1883), Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg: overture
Bruch, Max (1838-1920), Scottish Fantasy for violin and orchestra, Op.46
Strauss, Richard (1864-1949), Don Juan, symphonic poem, Op.20
Musgrave, Thea (b. 1928), Loch Ness - a Postcard from Scotland (BBC commission, world première)
Respighi, Ottorino (1879-1936), Pines of Rome (Pini di Roma)
Nicola Benedetti, Violin
Donald Runnicles, Conductor
The National Youth Orchestra of Scotland
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
We kick off with the London premiere of a
new Olympic Fanfare by Ayrshire-born James
MacMillan. Nicola Benedetti is in the spotlight
for Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy, Scottish-American
composer Thea Musgrave gives the tuba its moment
with her postcard from Loch Ness, while both
tonight’s ensembles come together for one of
Respighi’s glamorous Roman spectaculars.

Royal Albert Hall

Kensington Gore
London Greater London United Kingdom SW7 2AP