Benjamin Grosvenor and Oxford Philomusica

Marios Papadopoulos conducts the Oxford Philomusica in a concert of works by Harry, Grieg and Orff with soloists Benjamin Grosvenor (Piano), Elena Xanthoudakis (Soprano), Robert Davies (Baritone) and Tom Verney (Countertenor)

This listing is in the past.

Harry, Dr Martyn (b. 1964), Galgenhumoreske (World Premiere)

Grieg, Edvard (1843-1907), Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op.16

Orff, Carl (1895-1982), Carmina Burana


Benjamin Grosvenor, Piano

Elena Xanthoudakis, Soprano

Robert Davies, Baritone

Tom Verney, Countertenor

Oxford Philomusica

London Symphony Chorus

New London Children's Choir

Marios Papadopoulos, Conductor

Oxford’s acclaimed professional symphony orchestra is delighted to be making its first appearance at the Barbican since 1998. Opening the concert is the world premiere of a work by the contemporary classical composer, Martyn Harry, who is based at Oxford University, where Oxford Philomusica has been Orchestra In Residence since 2002. The Philomusica has a rich history of collaborations with world-class pianists, particularly through its highly successful annual International Piano Festival and Summer Academy, and here the outstandingly talented young pianist Benjamin Grosvenor will join the Orchestra for Grieg’s enchanting Piano Concerto. The programme will conclude with Carl Orff’s famous scenic cantata Carmina Burana, opening with the gloriously dramatic ‘O Fortuna’ sung by the London Symphony Chorus. This large-scale performance, also featuring internationally renowned soloists, soprano Elena Xanthoudakis and baritone Robert Davies, promises a musically varied, thrilling and exuberant close to the evening.

Barbican Centre: Hall

Silk Street
London Greater London United Kingdom EC2Y 8DS