Philharmonia Orchestra: Valcuha conducts Mendelssohn and Mahler

Juraj Valčuha conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert of works by Mendelssohn and Mahler with soloist Renaud Capuçon (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Mendelssohn, Felix (1809-1847), Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64
Mahler, Gustav (1860-1911), Symphony no. 5 in C sharp minor
Philharmonia Orchestra
Juraj Valčuha, Conductor
Renaud Capuçon, Violin
Juraj Valcuha conducts Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto and Mahler's Symphony No.5.

Mendelssohn and Mahler may at first appear unlikely musical bedfellows. Mendelssohn's music is predominantly a celebration of life while Mahler's has a tendency to focus on man's mortality.

Yet in these particular works they were never closer. Both open in the minor mode - Mahler with an inexorable funeral march, Mendelssohn in fearful flight - both feature major key slow movements tinged with sadness and regret (in Mahler's case, his famous Adagietto) and both end with joyful, dancing finales of uncontainable optimism.

Typically, Mahler prefers the sounds of rustic revelry while Mendelssohn free-floats on summer breezes.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX