Philharmonia Orchestra: Jordan and Khachatryan

Philippe Jordan conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert of works by Nielsen, Sibelius and Brahms with soloist Sergey Khachatryan (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Nielsen, Carl (1865-1931), Helios, overture, Op.17
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957), Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.47
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897), Symphony no. 2 in D major, Op.73
Philharmonia Orchestra
Philippe Jordan, Conductor
Sergey Khachatryan, Violin
Philippe Jordan conducts Neilsen's Helios Overture and Brahm's Symphony No.2 and is joined by phenomenal soloist Sergey Khachatryan in Sibelius' emotive Violin Concerto.

The evolution of Brahms' Second Symphony could not have been in greater contrast to that of its predecessor. Whereas Brahms had laboured some 20 years over his epic First, the Second sprang forth in a relative rush of creative exuberance. Not that Brahms was letting on. As the Symphony neared completion, the composer kept friends, publisher and critics second-guessing, maintaining that it would be so elegiac and melancholy in character 'that you will not be able to bear it'. Proof was, however, in the pudding: a joyous and sonorous work of pastoral lyricism that delighted its rapt debut Viennese audience.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX