Philharmonia Orchestra: Maazel conducts Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky

Lorin Maazel conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert of works by Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky with soloist Vadim Repin (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953), Romeo and Juliet: Montagues and Capulets
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953), Romeo and Juliet: Romeo at Juliet's Tomb
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953), Romeo and Juliet Suite no. 1, Op.64bis: The Death of Tybalt
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953), Violin Concerto no. 2 in G minor, Op.63
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich (1840-1893), Symphony no. 6 in B minor, "Pathétique", Op.74
Philharmonia Orchestra
Lorin Maazel, Conductor
Vadim Repin, Violin
Maestro Maazel conducts an all-Russian programme. Prokofiev's Violin Concerto No.2 with soloist Vadim Repin, excerpts from Romeo and Juliet and Tchaikovsky's Pathétique Symphony.

Few symphonies have attracted as much conspiracy theory as Tchaikovsky's Pathétique. Just nine days after its 1893 premiere, the composer died suddenly. Was the symphony's brooding solemnity - with its pathos and final descent into eerie silence - a portent of Tchaikovsky's own demise? Or indeed a symphonic suicide note?

Whatever the truth behind the enigma, the Sixth certainly took its emotional toll on Tchaikovsky, who declared that 'I have without exaggeration put my whole soul into this work...'

This all-Russian concert also features Prokofiev's Second Violin Concerto and selected excerpts from Romeo and Juliet.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX