Philharmonia Orchestra: Brahms, Dvorak and Mendelssohn

Tugan Sokhiev conducts the Philharmonia Orchestra in a concert of works by Mendelssohn, Dvořák and Brahms with soloist Akiko Suwanai (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Mendelssohn, Felix (1809-1847), A Midsummer Night's Dream: overture, Op.21
Dvořák, Antonín (1841-1904), Violin Concerto in A Minor, Op.53
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897), Symphony no. 1 in C minor, Op.68
Philharmonia Orchestra
Tugan Sokhiev, Conductor
Akiko Suwanai, Violin
An evening of glorious melody and rich Romantic textures featuring music by Brahms, Dvorák and Mendelssohn.

Dvorák's Violin Concerto is a hidden gem, a work of tremendous vitality and presence, by turns beguiling, wistful and brilliant, infused with the atmosphere of the composer's Czech homeland.

Brahms's First Symphony needs little introduction. Brahms delayed writing a symphonic work until the age of 44, overwhelmed by the spectre of Beethoven, but his anxiety was misplaced - at its première it was hailed as 'Beethoven's 10th'.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX