London Philharmonic Orchestra: Jurowski conducts Rachmaninov

Vladimir Jurowski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Denisov, Myaskovsky, Shchedrin and Rachmaninov with soloists Tatiana Monogarova (Soprano) and Sergei Skorokhodov (Tenor)
This listing is in the past.
Denisov, Edison (1929-1996), Bells in the fog
Myaskovsky, Nikolay (1881-1950), Silentium, Op.9
Shchedrin, Rodion Konstantinovich (b. 1932), Concerto no. 2 "The Chimes"
Rachmaninov, Sergei (1873-1943), The Bells, for choir and orchestra, Op.35
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski, Conductor
Tatiana Monogarova, Soprano
Sergei Skorokhodov, Tenor
London Philharmonic Choir
London Symphony Chorus
After a feast of bell-themed works by Denisov, Miaskovsky and Shchedrin comes Rachmaninov's creative response to his own fascination with the sound of bells. Passionate and rapturous music is tenderly weaved throughout by the soloists and charged by full-throttle chorus in Rachmaninov's bell-strewn vision of human life.

Like a seductive mist, the sound of bells casts a long, beautiful spell over orchestra and voices in this concert. Rachmaninov believed they directly conveyed emotional human truths, depicting the silvery brightness of birth, the golden browns of marriage, the dark stillness of death and the serenity of peace.

Free post-concert event on The Clore Ballroom Floor at Royal Festival Hall - artists involved in the performance will discuss the evening's programme.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX