London Philharmonic Orchestra: Elgar and Sibelius

Vassily Sinaisky conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Prokofiev, Elgar and Sibelius with soloist Sol Gabetta (Cello)
This listing is in the past.
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953), Symphony no. 1 in D major "Classical", Op.25
Elgar, Sir Edward (1857-1934), Cello concerto in E minor, Op.85
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957), Symphony no. 2 in D major, Op.43
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vassily Sinaisky, Conductor
Sol Gabetta, Cello
An evening of Elgar's passionate Cello Concerto, Prokofiev's dazzling First Symphony and Sibelius' profound Symphony No.2.

Darkness and light, optimism and despair, anger and contentedness - each seems so close to the other in these three masterworks that aren't always as they seem.

The glistening brilliance of Prokofiev's 'Classical' Symphony was actually created under political circumstances far more attuned to the angry and often bitter elegies that haunt Elgar's still beautiful Cello Concerto.

Few of Sibelius' symphonies are as consistently thick and embracing as his Second, but even in the huge, hymn-like yearning the composer conjures at the music's apex, he appears to be striving for something he knows is unattainable.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX