London Philharmonic Orchestra: Brahms and Shostakovich

Stanislaw Skrowaczewski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Brahms, Bruckner and Shostakovich with soloist Garrick Ohlsson (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897), Piano Concerto no. 1 in D minor, Op.15
Bruckner, Anton (1824-1896), String Quintet in F major, WAB 112 (Adagio, orch. Skrowaczewski)
Shostakovich, Dmitri (1906-1975), Symphony no. 1 in F minor, Op.10
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Stanislaw Skrowaczewski, Conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, Piano
When his guiding light Robert Schumann attempted suicide and was admitted to an asylum in 1853, Brahms finally decided to act on his senior's advice and attempt a multi-movement orchestral work. Partly a commemoration of Schumann's demise, partly a wild fight against it, Brahms' First Piano Concerto is frank, tender and impulsive.

Shostakovich, too, felt the pressure of handling a large orchestra when he wrote his First Symphony as a St Petersburg student. But he created a piece of brilliant tragicomedy, so clearly suggestive of things to come, including the darkness that would infest his life just as it did for Brahms'.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX