London Philharmonic Orchestra: Nordic Treasures

Osmo Vänskä conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Sibelius, Mozart and Nielsen with soloist Christian Tetzlaff (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Sibelius, Jean (1865-1957), Symphony no. 3 in C major, Op.52
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Violin Concerto no. 3 in G major, "Strassburg", K216
Nielsen, Carl (1865-1931), Symphony no.6, "Sinfonia semplice"
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Osmo Vänskä, Conductor
Christian Tetzlaff, Violin
Carl Nielsen's symphonic career ends with a truly fascinating and enchanting creation, his Symphony No.6. The work is one of the strangest orchestral works ever born and a piece whose piquant flourishes and mischievous parps enshroud the composer's strong-held musical beliefs.

Nielsen's tapestry of folly and despair could well be his own Mahlerian glimpse of mortality. Then again, it could simply be a beguiling slice of musical entertainment.

Osmo Vänskä decides, and brings with him a thrilling concerto by Mozart and an ever-refreshing symphony by Sibelius - who once leant over to Nielsen and whispered the words, 'I don't even reach your ankles.'

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX