London Philharmonic Orchestra: Nézet-Séguin conducts Rachmaninoff

Mikhail Agrest conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Rachmaninov with soloist Simon Trpčeski (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Rachmaninov, Sergei (1873-1943), Piano Concerto no. 3 in D minor, Op.30
Rachmaninov, Sergei (1873-1943), Symphony no. 2 in E minor, Op.27
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Simon Trpčeski, Piano
Mikhail Agrest, Conductor
The undulating melody of the Third Piano Concerto weaves its way into one of the most heart-stopping musical narratives of the 20th century - a lone virtuoso thundering and eulogising against a surging, soaring orchestra.

The Second Symphony contains the very best of Rachmaninoff. Powered by melody, richly orchestrated, moving from momentary infernal whirlwinds to passionate declarations of love and still reflections of peace and tranquility, it was the piece that gave its composer his symphonic credentials.

This heart-on-sleeve music is brought to life by the matchless talent of Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX