London Philharmonic Orchestra: Marin Alsop conducts Gershwin

Marin Alsop conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Ives, Gershwin, Copland and Joplin with soloist Garrick Ohlsson (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Ives, Charles (1874-1954), Three places in New England
Gershwin, George (1898-1937), Rhapsody in Blue
Copland, Aaron (1900-1990), Piano Concerto
Joplin, Scott (1867-1917), Treemonisha Suite (arr. Schuller)
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Marin Alsop, Conductor
Garrick Ohlsson, Piano
Gershwin, Ives, Copland and Joplin - four very different composers that helped put America firmly on the musical map in the 20th century.

Charles Ives' Three Places in New England is a strange, prudent, masterpiece - a fascinating contrast to the strident rhythms of Joplin's Treemonisha Suite and the touching, playful simplicity of Copland's beautiful Piano Concerto.

Exactly 80 years before this concert, American visionary Charles Ives witnessed the first performance of his orchestral triptych Three Places in New England. Inside Ives was stirring a unique brand of American impressionism - the piece recounted feelings floated to him from the rugged and humble beauty of New England landscapes as he walked through them, his wife by his side.

Free pre-concert event, 6.15pm until 6.45pm, Royal Festival Hall
Pianist Garrick Ohlsson shares his views on performing works by Gershwin and Copland.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX