London Philharmonic Orchestra: Jurowski conducts Prokofiev and Shostakovich

Vladimir Jurowski conducts the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Shostakovich with soloist Patricia Kopatchinskaja (Violin)
This listing is in the past.
Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971), Jeu de Cartes
Prokofiev, Sergey (1891-1953), Violin Concerto no. 2 in G minor, Op.63
Shostakovich, Dmitri (1906-1975), Symphony no. 6 in B minor, Op.54
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski, Conductor
Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Violin
Prokofiev's second Violin Concerto is said to represent the composer's focus on a 'new simplicity', but it's a warm, heartfelt piece nonetheless as the composer's long-breathed melodies mingle with moments of haunting stillness and thought.
Shostakovich, too, had to alter course with his Sixth Symphony. After the Soviet authorities accepted the masked rebellion of his Fifth, Shostakovich felt compelled to be more honest and open. Under the surface of the Sixth - first brooding and then bustling - emerges a grotesque picture of persecution ending in a gallop that portrayed, for one commentator, 'a brazen display of vulgarity'.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX