Ivan Fischer, Imogen Cooper and Budapest Festival Orchestra

Iván Fischer conducts the Budapest Festival Orchestra in a concert of works by Dohnányi, Beethoven and Bartók with soloist Imogen Cooper (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Dohnányi, Ernst von (1877-1960), Symphonic Minutes
Beethoven, Ludwig van (1770-1827), Piano Concerto no. 1 in C major, Op.15
Bartók, Béla (1881-1945), Concerto for Orchestra, Sz 116
Budapest Festival Orchestra
Iván Fischer, Conductor
Imogen Cooper, Piano
One of the last works that Bartók composed, his Concerto for Orchestra is also one of his most accessible. Over five movements listeners are treated to Bartók's love of Eastern-European folk melodies, his famously eerie 'night music', complete with dazzling harps and chiming celestas, and exciting full-orchestra tutti.

Hungarian pianist-composer Ernö Dohnányi was a contemporary of Bartok's and famed for his performances of Beethoven. His own music bears the musical imprint of Brahms. The Symphonic Minutes, a forgotten gem, are full of un-ashamed Romantic lyricism and pastoral melodies.

In the first half, the celebrated Imogen Cooper performs Beethoven's Piano Concerto No.1, an early masterpiece by the composer completed in 1797. Adeptly assimilating the styles of his predecessors Mozart and Haydn, it brims with positive energy.

Southbank Centre: Royal Festival Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX