International Piano Series: Kirill Gerstein

See Kirill Gerstein in a concert of works by Haydn, Mehldau, Brahms and Stravinsky
This listing is in the past.
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809), Variations in F minor "Sonata, un piccolo divertimento", Hob XVII:6
Mehldau, Brad (b. 1970), Variations on a Melancholy Theme
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897), Variations on a Theme by Paganini, Op.35
Brahms, Johannes (1833-1897), Three Intermezzi for Piano, Op.117
Stravinsky, Igor (1882-1971), Three movements from Pétrouchka
Kirill Gerstein, Piano
Kirill Gerstein, acclaimed as 'brilliant, perceptive and stunningly fresh' (The New York Times), comes to Southbank Centre with a vivid programme showcasing the contrasting styles in which he excels - ranging from the classical era to a contemporary-jazz premiere.

Gerstein 'arrived' when he won the 2010 Gilmore Award, the recipients of which are chosen unawares.

His recital opens with Haydn's lyrical F Minor Variations, followed by the world premiere of a new work written specially for him by jazz musician Brad Mehldau. He then tackles the demanding virtuosity of Brahms's Paganini Variations. The second half opens with Brahms's very different Op.117 Intermezzi, a gateway into a gentle, reflective world.

The grand finale features extracts from Stravinsky's kaleidoscopic ballet Petrushka transcribed for solo piano.

Southbank Centre: Queen Elizabeth Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX