International Chamber Music Season: Alison Balsom and the Aronowitz Ensemble

See a concert of works by Albinoni, Boccherini, Vivaldi, Saint-Saëns, Poster and Piazzolla with soloist Alison Balsom (Trumpet)
This listing is in the past.
Albinoni, Tomaso Giovanni (1671-1751), Concerto in D minor for oboe, Op.9 no.2
Boccherini, Luigi (1743-1805), String Quintet in E major, Op.11 no.5
Vivaldi, Antonio (1678-1741), L'estro armonico, concerto grosso in G major, for violin and strings, Op.3 no.3, RV 310
Saint-Saëns, Camille (1835-1921), Septet in E flat major for piano, trumpet, string quartet and bass, Op.65
Poster, Tom (b. 1981), Turn to the watery world! (London premiere)
Piazzolla, Astor (1921-1992), Oblivion
Piazzolla, Astor (1921-1992), Libertango
Alison Balsom, Trumpet
Aronowitz Ensemble
In her International Chamber Music Season debut, Alison Balsom presents a typically wide-ranging programme with the accomplished young Aronowitz Ensemble.

Two bright and brilliant baroque concertos by Vivaldi and Albinoni are juxtaposed with a pair of pieces - one lush and dreamy, the other a seductive dance - by Argentinean tango master Astor Piazzolla. There is also a new commission by young Scottish pianist and composer Tom Poster. This concert is the London premiere of Poster's piece.

'Occasionally a player comes along who turns all the preconceived ideas about their instrument on their head, and reinvents the repertoire,' observed Classic FM magazine about Alison Balsom. The British trumpeter is one of the most recognisable and compelling figures in UK classical music today.

'Her playing is breathtaking... listening to it is nothing less than a life-enhancing experience.' (BBC Music Magazine).

Southbank Centre: Queen Elizabeth Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX