Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment: The Four Seasons 1

András Schiff conducts the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in a concert of works by Mozart and Haydn with soloist András Schiff (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Piano Concerto no. 9 in E flat, "Jeunehomme", K271
Haydn, Joseph (1732-1809), Symphony no. 98 in B flat major
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus (1756-1791), Piano Concerto no. 24 in C minor, K491
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
András Schiff, Conductor
András Schiff, Piano
Tonight's concert sees a pair of Mozart's greatest piano concertos being performed by one of the world's greatest pianists, András Schiff.

The Ninth Piano Concerto was dubbed 'Mozart's Eroica' by none other than Albert Einstein, and the work contains a sublime and tender middle movement contained by two feisty outer movements.

Piano Concerto No.24 is perhaps better known and builds out of a spectacularly moody and muscular opening.

The evening's musical sandwich is one of Haydn's typically fresh and zesty symphonies, though again dark menacing undertones can be heard underneath the bright melodies.

The Front Room at Queen Elizabeth Hall at 5.45pm - OAE Extras education event. Free.

Southbank Centre: Queen Elizabeth Hall

Belvedere Road
London Greater London United Kingdom SE1 8XX