Fitzwilliam String Quartet presents: Delius, Shostakovich, Schubert

See a concert of works by Delius, Shostakovich and Schubert with soloist Moray Welsh (Cello)
This listing is in the past.
Delius, Frederick (1862-1934), String Quartet
Shostakovich, Dmitri (1906-1975), String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor, Op.108
Schubert, Franz (1797-1828), String Quintet in C major, D.956
Fitzwilliam String Quartet
Moray Welsh, Cello
The Fitzwilliam String Quartet returns to Wigmore Hall with a dazzling programme of chamber music drawn from their award-winning Decca series, beginning with a 150th birthday homage to Delius. Their personal friendship with Shostakovich is recalled through one of the works they played to him in 1972.

‘…the distinguished Fitzwilliam String Quartet hold the honour of having performed the Western premières of the last three quartets of Dmitri Shostakovich, and of being the first ensemble to record all fifteen of the Shostakovich quartets. Recordings that are still on the market today and still viewed by many as the standard to match’ Classical Music Sentinel, Canada

Wigmore Hall

36 Wigmore Street
London Greater London United Kingdom W1U 2BP