Fairfield at 50: Celebration Concert

John Wilson conducts the BBC Symphony Orchestra in a concert of works by Vaughan Williams, Finzi and Elgar with soloists Catherine Wyn-Rogers (Mezzo-soprano) and Michael Collins (Clarinet)
This listing is in the past.
Vaughan Williams, Ralph (1872-1958), The Wasps: overture
Finzi, Gerald (1901-1956), Clarinet Concerto
Elgar, Sir Edward (1857-1934), The Music Makers for soloists chorus and orchestra, Op.69
BBC Symphony Orchestra
BBC Symphony Chorus
John Wilson, Conductor
Catherine Wyn-Rogers, Mezzo-soprano
Michael Collins, Clarinet
We are delighted to welcome the BBC Symphony Orchestra, who perform in this
celebration of our 50th Birthday. The BBC Symphony Orchestra were the orchestra in
Fairfield’s opening concert on November 2nd 1962. In this concert they will be conducted
by John Wilson, whose affinity with English music makes him the ideal conductor for this
popular programme of English classics.

The BBC Symphony Orchestra are joined by soloist Michael Collins for Finzi’s much-loved
Clarinet Concerto, and by celebrated mezzo-soprano Catherine Wyn-Rogers and the BBC
Symphony Chorus for Elgar’s setting of Arthur O'Shaughessy's ode ‘We are the MusicMakers’ (1874). The Music Makers playfully quotes elements of Elgar’s ‘Enigma’ Variations,
First Symphony and his Violin Concerto. The overture from Vaughan Williams’s
incidental music for Aristophanes’s The Wasps opens their concert with an urgent.

Tickets: £12 - £31.50.

Fairfield, Croydon

Park Lane Croydon
London Greater London United Kingdom CR9 1DG