Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Alexander Shelley conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of works by Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov and Rimsky-Korsakov with soloist Peter Jablonski (Piano)
This listing is in the past.
Tchaikovsky, Pyotr Ilyich (1840-1893), Romeo and Juliet, Fantasy Overture
Rachmaninov, Sergei (1873-1943), Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini in A minor for piano and orchestra, Op.43
Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay Andreyevich (1844-1908), Scheherazade, symphonic suite, Op.35
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Alexander Shelley, Conductor
Peter Jablonski, Piano
Emerging from a musical family, talented British conductor Alexander Shelley has firmly
established himself on the international concert
scene and makes a welcome return to the Royal
Philharmonic Orchestra for this spectacular
programme. The dramatic Romeo and Juliet
Fantasy Overture, for many the most
perfect expression of the fate of those starcross’d lovers is followed by Rachmaninov’s
lushly-scored set of variations for piano and
orchestra, performed by Peter Jablonski.
Scheherazade, a series of musical tales
drawn from The Arabian Nights, remains
Rimsky-Korsakov’s best-loved work. The
scoring is masterly, and its heady mix of
sumptuous melody and overwhelming
orchestral climaxes has served
to maintain the universal
popularity of the score.

Tickets: £12 - £31.50.

Fairfield, Croydon

Park Lane Croydon
London Greater London United Kingdom CR9 1DG