Academy Symphonic Brass

See a concert of works by Gabrieli, Howarth, Ives, Ruggles and Herbert with soloists Jenny Stafford (Soprano), Jane Monari (Mezzo-soprano), Matthew Morgan (Tenor) and Tristan Hambleton (Baritone)
This listing is in the past.
Gabrieli, Giovanni (1554-1612), Canzon duodecimi toni, à 10 no.2
Howarth, Elgar (b. 1935), Venice - A Portrait (World premiere)
Gabrieli, Andrea (1532-1585), Ricercar del Duodecimo Tuono
Gabrieli, Giovanni (1554-1612), Canzoni per Sonara no.1
Ives, Charles (1874-1954), From the Steeples and the Mountains
Gabrieli, Giovanni (1554-1612), Sonata Pian e forte
Ruggles, Carl (1876-1971), Angels
Herbert, Kenneth, Music for an Idle Moment
Gabrieli, Giovanni (1554-1612), Canzon XX
Academy Symphonic Brass
Elgar Howarth, Conductor
Jenny Stafford, Soprano
Jane Monari, Mezzo-soprano
Matthew Morgan, Tenor
Tristan Hambleton, Baritone
To open the Royal Academy of Music's new 400+ series, Academy Symphonic Brass present a programme exploring both the wealth of tradition and the artistic variety of Venice, as well as musical innovation at its finest, with music across the ages — from Gabrieli to Kenneth Herbert. Today’s programme will also feature the premiere of a new work by Elgar Howarth, commissioned by the Academy and inspired by the painters, poets and musicians of Venice and in particular Giovanni Gabrieli, the 400th anniversary of whose death fell earlier this year.

Royal Academy of Music, Duke's Hall

Marylebone Road
London Greater London United Kingdom NW1 5HT